Board of Directors

Jim Sable – Founder & Executive Director
Jim has been a Firearm Safety Instructor for more that 48 years and is an avid hunter and sportsman. Previously, Jim and his wife Sharon owned and operated their own advertising agency for more than 15 years. Jim founded the program in 2001.

John Nelson – Vice President
With more than 25 years of advertising agency experience, John leads sales and marketing efforts and has been a board member since 2008.

Justin Niederman – Director
Justin is the owner of multiple companies in the insurance and investment business. He participated in the MSHSCTL as a high school student and is a current member of the gun club he participated at. Justin has been a board member since 2011.

Scott Danielson – Director
Scott is a business owner of a Twin Cities’ media company and is also the coach of the Edina High School trap team. He is a certified shooting sport coach and avid hunter. Scott has been a board member since 2011.

Mark Zauhar – Director
Mark is a business owner of a Twin Cities’ manufacturing company and is the previous president of the Minnesota Trapshooting Association. Mark participates in many national trapshooting events and became a board member in 2012.

Ray Alvey – Director
Ray works in the financial and human resource management field in the marketing communication industry. He is an avid outdoorsman and joined the board in 2014.



Coaches Advisory Council

The Coaches Advisory Council is a volunteer group of High School Clay Target League coaches that offer improvement suggestions which are consistent with the league’s mission to the Board of Directors. Members of the Coaches Advisory Council also provide assistance and mentoring to coaches and/or individuals who represent new team considering and/or participating in the League. Advisors include:
Scott Berning – St. Michael/Albertville High School
Paul Dietz – New Prague High School
Mike Hammer – Brainerd High School
Pam Koenen – Alden-Conger High School
John Miller – Apple Valley High School
Dan Sorum – New Richland High School
Tom Townsend – Alexandria High School
Troy Weathers – Hastings High School